Fact comparison
Hermes Agent vs OpenClaw
Type: Hermes Agent, agent; OpenClaw, operating system. Summary: Hermes Agent, Hermes Agent from Nous Research is an open-source assistant that keeps persistent memory, learns reusable skills, schedules tasks in natural language and delegates to isolated subagents. It connects to Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal and email, and has desktop apps. The software is free; optional Nous Portal tiers range from free to 200 dollars a month for model access.; OpenClaw, OpenClaw is a gateway that runs on your computer and connects an assistant to Discord, iMessage, Slack, Teams, Telegram, WhatsApp and 20+ other channels, with native apps for desktop and mobile. State, memory and credentials stay on your hardware, and model providers are swappable plugins. The README says it has no paid tier, hosted service or token and is stewarded by an independent 501(c)(3) foundation.. Stated plan prices: Hermes Agent, Free, or $200 a month; OpenClaw, Free. Licence: Hermes Agent, subscription; OpenClaw, Not stated. Industries: Hermes Agent, Media and creators, Professional services, Research, Startups; OpenClaw, Agencies and consulting, Media and creators, Professional services, Startups. Functions: Hermes Agent, Engineering, Executive assistant, Operations, Research; OpenClaw, Community, Customer support, Executive assistant, Operations. Runtimes: Hermes Agent, Hermes, Docker, SSH, Modal; OpenClaw, Claude, Codex, Local models. Support: Hermes Agent, GitHub issues, docs, Nous Research Portal; OpenClaw, Docs, FAQ, GitHub issues, foundation. AIOS Market rating: Hermes Agent, 7.6 / 10; OpenClaw, 8.3 / 10. Ownership and privacy: Hermes Agent, Ownership and privacy: 8 / 10; OpenClaw, Ownership and privacy: 9 / 10. Value for money: Hermes Agent, Value for money: 9 / 10; OpenClaw, Value for money: 10 / 10. Updates and support: Hermes Agent, Updates and support: 9 / 10; OpenClaw, Updates and support: 10 / 10. Security: Hermes Agent, Security: 4 / 10; OpenClaw, Security: 7 / 10. Operating systems: Hermes Agent, macOS, Linux, Windows; OpenClaw, macOS, Linux, Windows, iOS, Android. Install method: Hermes Agent, curl -fsSL https://hermes-agent.nousresearch.com/install.sh | bash, or desktop app (macOS 12+, Windows 10/11); OpenClaw, curl -fsSL https://openclaw.ai/install.sh | bash (or npm install -g openclaw@latest); then openclaw onboard --install-daemon. Data privacy: Hermes Agent, Local by default with optional sandboxes (Docker, SSH, Modal); Nous Portal is a separate hosted model service.; OpenClaw, Local: state, memory and credentials on your hardware; only a daily version check by default, anonymous stats opt-in; prompts go to your chosen model provider.. Rankings are based on editorial stars.
Listed options
Swipe or scroll the table horizontally to view every fact.
| Fact | Hermes Agent | OpenClaw |
|---|---|---|
| Type | agent | operating system |
| Summary | Hermes Agent from Nous Research is an open-source assistant that keeps persistent memory, learns reusable skills, schedules tasks in natural language and delegates to isolated subagents. It connects to Telegram, Discord, Slack, WhatsApp, Signal and email, and has desktop apps. The software is free; optional Nous Portal tiers range from free to 200 dollars a month for model access. | OpenClaw is a gateway that runs on your computer and connects an assistant to Discord, iMessage, Slack, Teams, Telegram, WhatsApp and 20+ other channels, with native apps for desktop and mobile. State, memory and credentials stay on your hardware, and model providers are swappable plugins. The README says it has no paid tier, hosted service or token and is stewarded by an independent 501(c)(3) foundation. |
| Seller | AIOS Market | AIOS Market |
| Stated plan prices | Free, or $200 a month | Free |
| Licence | subscription | Not stated |
| Industries | Media and creators, Professional services, Research, Startups | Agencies and consulting, Media and creators, Professional services, Startups |
| Functions | Engineering, Executive assistant, Operations, Research | Community, Customer support, Executive assistant, Operations |
| Runtimes | Hermes, Docker, SSH, Modal | Claude, Codex, Local models |
| Integrations | Not stated | Not stated |
| Company sizes | solo, 2-10, 11-50 | solo, 2-10, 11-50 |
| Self-updating | Yes | Yes |
| Team sharing | Not stated | Not stated |
| Seats included | Not stated | Not stated |
| Install verification | Not verified | Not verified |
| Security verification | Not verified | Not verified |
| Install difficulty | moderate | moderate |
| Support | GitHub issues, docs, Nous Research Portal | Docs, FAQ, GitHub issues, foundation |
| Installs | 0 | 0 |
| Class | Open-source framework | Open-source framework |
| Usefulness level | 4 / 5: Autonomous | 4 / 5: Autonomous |
| AIOS Market rating | 7.6 / 10 | 8.3 / 10 |
| Buyer rating | No buyer reviews yet | No buyer reviews yet |
| Sample listing | No | No |
| Autonomy | Autonomy: 8 / 10 | Autonomy: 8 / 10 |
| Depth | Depth: 8 / 10 | Depth: 8 / 10 |
| Ease of setup | Ease of setup: 5 / 10 | Ease of setup: 5 / 10 |
| Ownership and privacy | Ownership and privacy: 8 / 10 | Ownership and privacy: 9 / 10 |
| Value for money | Value for money: 9 / 10 | Value for money: 10 / 10 |
| Updates and support | Updates and support: 9 / 10 | Updates and support: 10 / 10 |
| Security | Security: 4 / 10 | Security: 7 / 10 |
| Maturity and traction | Maturity and traction: 10 / 10 | Maturity and traction: 10 / 10 |
| Operating systems | macOS, Linux, Windows | macOS, Linux, Windows, iOS, Android |
| Install method | curl -fsSL https://hermes-agent.nousresearch.com/install.sh | bash, or desktop app (macOS 12+, Windows 10/11) | curl -fsSL https://openclaw.ai/install.sh | bash (or npm install -g openclaw@latest); then openclaw onboard --install-daemon |
| Install time | Not stated | Not stated |
| Data privacy | Local by default with optional sandboxes (Docker, SSH, Modal); Nous Portal is a separate hosted model service. | Local: state, memory and credentials on your hardware; only a daily version check by default, anonymous stats opt-in; prompts go to your chosen model provider. |
| Agents listed | Not stated | Not stated |
How to choose
- Compare the stated plan and billing terms.
- Check runtime and operating-system requirements.
- Review installation and licence details.
- Confirm data privacy and support information.
Frequently asked questions
- How many listings are listed?
- 2 are listed right now: Hermes Agent and OpenClaw.
- What do listings cost?
- Stated prices: free; $200 a month, across 3 priced plans. Check each listing for current terms.
- Which runtimes do listings need?
- The listings name Claude, Codex, Docker, Hermes, Local models, Modal, SSH.